BC Economic Development Awards
















The BC Economic Development Association’s BC Economic Development Awards recognizes the Province’s best economic development marketing materials; programs and partnerships. These prestigious awards honor organizations and/or individuals for their efforts in creating positive change in urban, suburban, and rural communities.  Two awards will be given in each category – based on population.  One award for population under 20,000 and one award for population over 20,000.

2017 BC Economic Development Award Winners Press Release

Download the Preparing Your Entry Webinar


Timeline & Entry Fees

Call for Entries Begins:  February 15, 2017

Final Deadline:  May 12, 2017

Awards Presented:  June 13, 2017

Entry Submission (per entry): BCEDA Members $30.00 + GST/ Non Members $100 + GST



Marketing Innovation Award

These awards recognize innovative and effective marketing materials used for attracting, retaining and fostering business as well as communication vehicles used by economic development organizations.

Examples of Typical Submissions:

  • General Purpose Brochure
  • Special Purpose Brochure
  • General Purpose Promotion
  • Annual Report
  • Paid Advertising Campaign
  • Newsletter/Newspaper
  • Magazine
  • General Purpose Website
  • Special Purpose Website
  • New Media
  • Special Event
  • Branding
  • Marketing Strategy
  • Marketing Campaign

Community Project Award

This award recognizes a community or regional partnership that works together in on-going economic development work and activities.
Examples of Typical Submissions:
  • Technology Based Economic Development
  • Multi-Year Economic Development
  • Economic Development Training
  • Business Retention & Expansion 
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Neighbourhood Development
  • Human Capital Program
  • Responding to Globalization
  • Sustainable and Green Development
  • Real Estate Redevelopment & Reuse
  • Public-Private Partnerships
  • Partnerships with Educational Institutions
  • Regionalism and Cross-Border Collaboration

Stan Rogers Memorial Award

Deadline for entries: May 12, 2017

The Stan Rogers Memorial Award is presented to a specific project, either completed by the public or private sector, which has made an exceptional impact on a local economy.  Nominations for local government and private sector companies will both be considered.  Download the details by clicking here.

Past Winners