EDABC elects new Board for 2012


For Immediate Release

EDABC Elects new Board of Directors for 2012

Chilliwack – June 10, 2011 -- Dale Wheeldon, CEO, and Kevin Poole, EDO for the City of Vernon and outgoing President of the Economic Development Association of BC today announced additions and changes to the EDABC Board of Directors as decided at the EDABC Annual Meeting held on Tuesday, June 7, 2011.   The membership also made small modifications to the Constitution and Bylaws to better reflect the activities of the association and will help build an even stronger association representing the needs of BC communities.

“As the lead organization in BC for those involved in Economic Development, EDABC continues to experience impressive growth not only in membership but also in the activities that it is involved in related to strengthening BC's economy.  For two years, I have been fortunate to be the President of this growing organization and I look forward to working with the newly elected President who will take over when my term ends on December 31, 2011.  Geoff Miller has been a tremendous vice president and I know that he will continue to represent our profession well.  We anticipate a productive and successful year, and I look forward to working with the new board and executive committee members as they assist and guide us in our important work.” "said Kevin Poole, President. 

The EDABC board effective January 1, 2012 is as follows:

President, Geoff Millar, Manager of Economic Development, Cowichan Valley Regional District (term expires December 31, 2013)

Vice President, Scott Randolph, Economic Development Manager, Powell River Regional Economic Development Society (term expires December 31, 2013)

Treasurer, Kate Zanon, Pitt Meadows Economic Development Corporation (one year term)

Secretary, Marilyn Hutchinson, Director Sustainability & Growth for Grieg Seafood BC Ltd (one year term)

Director, Sue Kenny, General Manager of Community Futures of Peace Liard (one year remaining)

Director Katherine Scouten, VP, Initiatives Prince George. 

Director, Kevin Weaver, Economic Development Officer, City of Cranbrook

Director, Dan Sulz, Executive Director, Venture Kamloops

Past President, Kevin Poole, Economic Development Officer, City of Vernon.  Kevin will take over from John Waston, effective September 2011 as the EDABC representative on the EDAC Board of Directors.

EDABC would like to thank outgoing board members, Past President John Watson, and Directors Gerald Minchuk and Corie Griffiths for the time and commitment made to EDABC and our members.  



For more information contact:

Dale Wheeldon, CEO                                                                                          

Economic Development Association of BC                                                    




Since 1982, the EDABC has been the leading provincial association of economic development practitioners. In addition to this, the EDABC is also the main organization working with BC communities to improve the province’s economy through the retention and expansion of economic opportunities. Through its innovative partnership program the association works with a wide range of companies, industry associations, individuals and others in supporting the growth of BC communities. 

News Expiry Date: 
Sunday, June 1, 2014