

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

BCEDA Elects new Board of Directors for 2019

Chilliwack – March 12th -- Dale Wheeldon, President and CEO, and Sue Kenny, outgoing Board Chair of the BC Economic Development Association (BCEDA) today announced additions and changes to the BCEDA Board of Directors as decided at the BCEDA Annual Meeting held on Monday, March 4, 2019. The membership also made small modifications to the Constitution and Bylaws to better change the term start and end dates for future board of directors.

"As the lead organization in BC for those involved in Economic Development, BCEDA continues to experience impressive growth not only in membership but also in the activities that it is involved in related to strengthening BC's economy. We are extremely proud of what we have accomplished, including the being the leader in Canada in Economic Disaster Recovery. For two years, I have been fortunate to be the Chair of this growing organization and I look forward to working with the newly elected Chair who took over on Wednesday, March 6, 2019. Maureen Czirfusz has been a tremendous first vice-chair and I know that she will continue to represent our profession well. We anticipate a productive and successful year, and I look forward to working with the new board and executive committee members as they assist and guide us in our important work. I also look forward to representing BCEDA on the Economic Developers Association of Canada in my capacity of past chair of BCEDA" said Sue Kenny, outgoing Board Chair.

The BCEDA board effective March 6, 2019 is as follows:

- Chair, Maureen Czirfusz, Economic Development Officer and Executive Director, Houston & District Chamber of Commerce, Houston, BC (term expires AGM 2021)
- First Vice-Chair, David Munro, Manager, Economic Development, City of Coquitlam (term expires AGM 2021)
- Second Vice-Chair, John Perrott, Economic Development Officer, City of West Kelowna
- Treasurer, Brian Coombes, President, Chilliwack Economic Partners Corporation, Chilliwack, BC (term expires AGM 2021)
- **Secretary**, Pat Deakin, Economic Development Manager, City of Port Alberni (term expires AGM 2021)
- Director, Trevor Cootes, Executive Councillor, Huuayaht First Nation (term expires AGM 2020)
- **Director**, Robyn Cyr, Economic Development Officer, Columbia Shuswap Regional District (term expires AGM 2021)
- Director, Terry Van Horn, Executive Director, Lower Columbia Initiatives Corporation (term expires AGM 2021)
- Director, Amy Reid, Economic Development Officer, City of Quesnel (term expires AGM 2020)
- Director, John Powell, Director of Economic Development & Tourism, District of Tumbler Ridge (term expires AGM 2021)
- Past Chair, Sue Kenny, General Manager, Community Futures Peace Liard

BCEDA would like to thank outgoing board member, Past Chair Scott Randolph for his impressive commitment and time made to BCEDA and our members.







For more information contact:
Dale Wheeldon, President and CEO
BC Economic Development Association
604-819-3809

About BCEDA

Since 1981, the BCEDA has been the leading provincial association of economic development practitioners. In addition to this, the BCEDA is also the main organization working with BC communities to improve the province's economy through the retention and expansion of economic opportunities. Through its innovative partnership program the association works with a wide range of companies, industry associations, individuals and others in supporting the growth of BC communities.